A Well-Deserved Memorial…

j-s-bikes

Motorcycle Buddies (Circa 1972)

The Siskiyou County Sheriff’s Department paid my father, Jack Fairchild, the highest of honors at the memorial service on April 17, 2015. The military honors and the canine officers would have made my father proud, along with a special commendation from Sheriff Jon Lopey for my father’s law enforcement career. It was touching to see young officers with their dogs honoring my father, who was the first canine officer in the department many years ago. In looking through my father’s papers, I discovered a police report from the summer of 1978 that he had kept all these years. This was the infamous incidence where a young Yreka Police Office was shot and killed. My father was the first supervisor on the scene that night and involved in a shootout that captured the assailants. I am humbled by this information as I never knew that he had put his own life on the line that fateful night…

P1000134P1000132P1000141P1000146

This entry was posted in Personal Anecdotes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

