“I look for the cracks…”

103094798_large_FaizaMaghni22

I am taken in by the intimate and ornate paintings of women by Algerian artist Faiza Maghni. The images are stunning, feminine, beautiful. Yet a complexity has me lingering and pondering over the artistic style, the symbolic meanings that are imperceptible to me without further insights about the artist and her intentions. To share what I learned I borrow excerpts from an interview (July 2012) with the artist, conducted by Deanna Elaine Piowaty, Managing Editor or Combustus Online Magazine:

103094769_large_78648081_14ak

Deanna Elaine Piowaty:Your sources of inspiration include Persian miniatures, Arabic calligraphy, tribal art and contemporary painting. This is quite an eclectic mix! How did all this come together for you?

Faiza Maghni: I was born in Oran, Algeria, and now live in Paris. This eclecticism influences my aesthetics, especially the culture and traditions of my hometown, a rich Mediterranean city reflecting the influences of the many civilizations that have occupied it: Spanish, Jewish, Arab, Andalusian, Ottoman and French. All this has left its mark, whether in architecture, music or the lifestyle in general. In my work I seek to convey a certain kind of romanticism inspired by Arabic and Persian poetry, taking my inspiration from the costumes and hairstyles of the miniatures of the past which I find full of subtlety and restraint. I’m also drawn to the symbolic meanings found in tribal jewelry and have reinvented this style in my paintings, such as the giraffe-collared women in Burma and Africa that are simultaneously a symbol of beauty and a forced cruelty.

d800258cd1a2d97c676056fcbe583a2f 103094795_large_FaizaMaghni6

Deanna Elaine Piowaty: Costume plays an important role in your portraits. Please tell me more about that.

Faiza Maghni: Costume is the ornament. In my paintings, the ornament expresses attitudes sometimes severe, sometimes austere, other times carefree, and with still others there is a certain majesty. Often I create an exaggeration to express my own intensity. Sometimes costume can be an impressive armor and other times a kind of light and screen that hides or reveals.

103094797_large_FaizaMaghni20
Deanna Elaine Piowaty: What do you see when you look at a woman’s face? What is it you wish to capture?

Faiza Maghni: I look for the cracks, brittleness in her appearance or demeanor. I am very sensitive to people.

103094788_large_FaizaFaghniTuttArt11 faiza-faghni-tuttart-31

Deanna Elaine Piowaty: When you are painting a particular portrait, do you start to invent a personality to go with the image? A past, perhaps? A life history that goes with the face?

Faiza Maghni: The character and the composition are voluntarily timeless. I try to create a moment of poetry out of time, an intimate and hushed atmosphere.

I paint women-children who want to keep some of this childhood innocence as they grow up. They may aspire to some kind of ‘renaissance,” coming from a serene femininity and proud sovereign of their destiny.

http://combustus.net/2012/07/26/faiza-maghni-i-look-for-the-cracks/

103094803_large_tumblr_ltihtgtNNM1qed8s5o1_500 faiza-maghni-2

This entry was posted in Women's Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

